William Mason Elementary School Named 2019 National School of Character by Character.org.

William Mason Elementary School Named 2019 National School of Character by Character.org William Mason Joins Cedar Hill, Lazar, Woodmont as National Schools of Character & Montville Township Public Schools as National District of Character. 

On Friday, October 25, 2019, William Mason Elementary School was honored as a 2019 National School of Character. The awards ceremony was held during the Character.org National Forum in Washington, D.C. The four-day event, which hosted educators from across the country and around the globe, was held October 24-27, 2019.

William Mason joined Cedar Hill Elementary, Robert R. Lazar Middle School and Woodmont Elementary, to achieve the national designation.

The Montville Township Public Schools district has also been named a National District of Character by Character.org.

“Character education is a priority for the entire Montville Township Public Schools district,” said Superintendent Dr. René Rovtar. “I am extremely proud of the 2019 national recognition William Mason has achieved. Four schools in the district, in addition to the entire Montville Township Public Schools district, have received national recognition from Character.org. Character education initiatives have a positive impact on individual students and the community at large. I thank Character.org for this significant acknowledgement. I am also grateful to the entire faculty, staff and administration for their on-going dedication to character education.”

Character.org is a national program that was developed in 1998. It has positively impacted the lives of more than 3 million students, staff, parents, and other community members. Character.org is a national advocate and leader for character in communities including schools, families, workplaces, and sports. 

William Mason Elementary School was one of 88 schools and 3 districts in 24 states who were named as 2019 National Schools of Character. This year, for the first time in its 31 year history, Character.org also designated one school as a China School of Character for 2019.

Each year, Character.org certifies schools and districts at the state and national level that demonstrate a dedicated focus on character development, which has a positive effect on academic achievement, student behavior, and school climate. Character.org’s highest distinction is to be named a National School or District of Character.

Since 2016, four district schools have achieved this distinction, and Montville Township Public Schools district has also received the national distinction.  (See the complete list of 2019 National Schools of Character below.)

“We are pleased to announce the 2019 National Schools and Districts of Character,” Character.org’s President & CEO, Doug Karr, said on May 10, 2019. “These schools’ representatives, including educators, parents, and students, are working together to create stronger communities focused on character. We are honored to validate their efforts and continue coaching them along their journeys. ”

Criteria for selection are based on Character.org’s 11 Principles of Effective Character, which include providing students with opportunities for moral action, fostering shared leadership, and engaging families and communities as partners in the character-building effort.

Schools across the country and around the globe implement the 11 Principles of Effective Character, which a structure for promoting the highest ethical standards. The annual Character.org National Forum features workshops and presentations on Best Practices in Character Education.

# # # #  

CAPTION (Image provided by Character.org)

William Mason Elementary School was named a 2019 District of Character by Character.org. The Montville Township Public Schools facility became the fourth school in the district to be awarded the national recognition. The Montville Township Public Schools district has also been named a District of Character.


About Character.org: Founded in 1993, Character.org is a national nonprofit based in Washington, D.C. It works with communities including organizations, schools, families, workplaces, and sports to inspire, educate, and empower people to be ethical and compassionate citizens. Character.org is a membership organization dedicated to growth and success through the advancement of quality character development in schools and communities through programs and resources. Visit www.character.org to learn more.

2019 National Schools and Districts of Character

Jinling Primary School

Imagine Cortez Park

Coastal Academy

Tracey Elementary School

District of Columbia
Hope Community Public Charter School-Lamond Campus

*Apollo Beach Elementary
Imagine School at North Port
*Imagine School at Town Center
Imagine Schools at West Melbourne
Imagine South Vero
Seminole Science Charter School

Emge Jr. High School
Harmony Intermediate Center
St. Mary of the Angels School

Anthony Elementary
David Brewer Elementary School

Kenwood Elementary

Pocomoke High School

*Harlan Elementary
Larson Middle School

*Community of Peace Academy


National Districts of Character
Ladue School District
*Lindbergh School District
*Mehlville School District

National Schools of Character
*Blevins Elementary
Hancock Place High School
Hanna Woods Elementary School
Hillcrest STEAM Academy
*Hiram Neuwoehner High School
Ladue Early Childhood Center
*Ladue Middle School
Lafayette High School
*Lindbergh High School
Maple Grove Elementary
*McKelvey Elementary
*Sperreng Middle School
Truman Middle School

*Longfellow Elementary School

New Jersey
*Cheesequake Elementary School
Dr. Albert Einstein Academy School No. 29
Frances C. Smith ECC School No. 50
Green-Fields Elementary
Greenwood Elementary School
Harker Wylie
Helen A. Fort Middle School
*Henry C. Beck Middle School
Isaiah Haines Elementary School
*James A. McDivitt Elementary School
James F. Cooper Elementary School
James H. Johnson Elementary School
Kingston Elementary School
Lakeview School
Langtree Elementary School
Marshall Hill School
Nicholas S. LaCorte Peterstown School No. 3
*Pauline J. Petway Elementary
Perth Amboy High School
*Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School
Riverview Elementary School
Stony Brook School, North Plainfield
Stony Brook School, Rockaway Township
Valley Middle School
West Milford Township High School
William Mason Elementary School
Woodcrest Elementary School

New York
Crompond Elementary School
Lee Road Elementary School
Meadow Elementary School
Smallwood Drive Elementary School
*Smith Street School

*Centerville Primary Village North

Roosevelt Elementary
*Sadler Arts Academy

*Charles Boehm Middle School
Chestnutwold Elementary School
St. Cyril of Alexandria

Acton Elementary
Cambridge Elementary School
Goforth Elementary
Henry Bauerschlag Elementary
Howard Early Childhood Center
Klein Forest High School
Klein High School
LaVace Stewart Elementary
Margaret S McWhirter Elementary
Oak Woods School
Ross Elementary
School of Science and Technology Advancement
School of Science and Technology Corpus Christi
*Southside Elementary School
Weber Elementary School

Edgewood School

*Denotes a re-certifying National School of Character.

Back to School News      Print News Article