Close alert

New Teachers Attend 2-Day Orientation at Montville Township Public Schools

New Teachers for the 2021 through 2022 school year.

Fifteen new teachers attended “New Teacher Orientation 2021”, in Montville Township, New Jersey, on Tuesday, August 24, 2021. The in-person program was held from 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at Montville Township High School. A total of seventeen new teachers have joined the district’s staff for the 2021-2022 academic year.

Superintendent Dr. René Rovtar and the entire Montville Township Public Schools Administrative Team welcomed the new hires.

“As you know, our selection process is very rigorous,” Superintendent Dr. René Rovtar said in her opening remarks. “We are excited to have you join our district. You truly are: The Best of the Best.”

Rovtar also noted that Montville Township Public Schools provides a welcoming environment for new teachers.

“You will find both support and guidance from the teaching staff and administrators in your buildings and throughout the district,” she said.

The seventeen new faculty are assigned throughout the district’s seven schools and will address a variety of curriculum areas. There will be five new elementary teachers, three special education teachers, one speech teacher, one BSI teacher, one music teacher, two social studies teachers, one World Language teacher, one district-wide elementary Spanish teacher and two long-term substitute teachers in music and special education.

Two of the teachers are assigned to Robert R. Lazar Middle School, three at MTHS, three at Cedar Hill Elementary School, one at Woodmont Elementary School, and two each at Hilldale, Valley View and William Mason Elementary Schools. One teacher will float throughout the district’s five elementary schools, and one will float between Woodmont and Lazar.

A second day of “New Teacher Orientation” will be held on Wednesday, August 25, from 7:45 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

During the 2-day orientation the district’s Administrative team provides instruction in all district procedures. Day 1 includes instruction in: Information Technology Services, Business Office Orientation, School Counseling Services and Special Services. During the Day 2 orientation, building principals and curriculum supervisors provide extensive Danielson Training to the district’s new faculty. Named for Charlotte Danielson, an internationally-recognized expert in the area of teacher effectiveness, Danielson Training is a standardized framework for teaching that defines teacher responsibilities in four key areas: planning and preparation, classroom environment, instruction, and professional responsibilities.

New Teachers will also have an opportunity to report to their classrooms and prepare rooms for students.

Montville Township Public Schools will be open for full-day instruction during the 2021-2022 academic year. Students will begin on September 9, 2021.

The new faculty for the 2021-2022 academic year are: Rachel Clark-Sindler, MTHS Long-Term Substitute Music; Deborah Cooney, William Mason; Michael Cullen, Cedar Hill; Christine Deary, Valley View BSI; Jill DiCerbo, Hilldale Long-Term Substitute Special Education; Makenzie Dreher, Hilldale Special Education; Yana Faynshteyn, Valley View Special Education; Charles Hilgendorff, Woodmont; Katrina Kleinmann, Lazar Music; Stephanie Lentine, Cedar Hill Special Education; Katelyn Moll, William Mason; Kaitlin Nieglos, Woodmont/Lazar Speech; Jennifer Ochoa, District Elementary Spanish Teacher; Stacy Santola, Cedar Hill; Christina Scaglione, Lazar Social Studies; Justin Scrufari, MTHS Social Studies; and Titina Serpico MTHS World Language.

There are 3,407 pre-kindergarten to grade twelve students registered for fall 2021.

Students will begin classes on Thursday, September 9, 2021. New teachers, as well as existing staff, faculty and administration will attend district-wide In-Service Days on Wednesday, and Thursday, September 1 and 2.



Seventeen new teachers have joined the faculty at Montville Township Public Schools for the 2021-2022 school year. Row 1: Rachel Clark-Sindler, MTHS; Deborah Cooney, William Mason; Michael Cullen, Cedar Hill; Makenzie Dreher, Hilldale; Yana Faynshteyn, Valley View. Row 2: Charles Hilgendorff, Woodmont; Katrina Kleinmann, Lazar; Stephanie Lentine, Cedar Hill; Katelyn Moll, William Mason; Kaitlin Nieglos, Woodmont/Lazar. Row 3: Jennifer Ochoa, District Elementary Spanish Teacher; Stacy Santola, Cedar Hill; Christina Scaglione, Lazar; Justin Scrufari, MTHS; and Titina Serpico MTHS. Not Pictured: Christine Deary, Valley View; Jill DiCerbo, Hilldale.

Back to School News       Print