HEALTH FORMS AND INFORMATION
COVID19 Resources for students and families
Universal Child Health Record
New Jersey Department of Education Immunization Requirements
New Jersey Department of Health Minimum Immunization Requirements
Montville Township Grade 6 Immunization Letter
Authorization for Medication to Be Taken at School
Asthma Treatment Plan for Students
Diabetes Health Care Plan
Seizure Action Plan
Allergy Emergency Treatment Form - Physician's Orders
Centers for Disease Control Flu Guide for Parents
The Flu: A Guide for Parents
Genital Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Fact Sheet
Head Lice 101 - What You Should Know About Head Lice
20 Surprising Things You May Not Know About Head Lice
Facing Head Lice: A Guide for Parents
HEALTH OFFICE PROCEDURES
We all want our children to have good attendance and we hope our children are healthy so they will have few absences. There are some occasions, however, when children need to stay home. These guidelines are designed to protect the health of all children.
1. Any student with a fever (a temperature of 100 degrees or above) will be sent home and he/she must remain home a full 24 hours fever free before returning to school. It is at the discretion of the certified school nurse or substitute school nurse to send a child home if they are not well, regardless of the child’s temperature.
2. If a child vomits or has diarrhea during the night or in the morning, please do not send him/her to school. If a child vomits in school, we will call you to pick him/her up. The child must remain home for a full 24 hours after being sent home by the certified school nurse or substitute school nurse.
3. If a child has been diagnosed with Strep Throat, notify the certified school nurse or substitute school nurse. State law requires he/she must be on medication for 24 hours before returning to school.
4. If a child has been diagnosed with Conjunctivitis (pink eye,) he/she must be on medication for 24 hours before returning to school and must have a note from the primary care provider.
5. Chicken pox requires the child to be home until all pox are scabbed and dry. Clearance from the certified school nurse or substitute school nurse is necessary before the child can re-enter the classroom and must have a note from the primary care provider.
6. It is very important that the certified school nurse or substitute school nurse be notified if head lice or nits are found in your child’s hair. A child must be nit free for 24 before returning to school. The child must be brought in by the parent or guardian to the health office for clearance to re-enter the classroom. Lice Info.
7. If a child needs to be excused from Physical Education for one day, a note from the parent/guardian is required. If a Physical Education excuse is needed for more than one day, a note from the primary care provider is required.
8. Parents need to notify the certified school nurse or substitute school nurse and provide a physician’s note if a child is on crutches, has a cast or is in a brace of any kind. If a child has a cast, is on crutches or has a brace of any kind, he/she will not be able to participate in Physical Education classes or recess.
9. No medication, including over the counter medications will be administered to students unless there is a Physician and Parent/Guardian medication authorization form completed. The medication also must be in the original prescription bottle or original container. Please refer to the medication policies if you have any questions.
10. Please remember to call the health office when your child is going to be absent, late or on vacation.
11. If you send your child to school sick or your child becomes sick at school you will be called to come pick them up IMMEDIATELY.